2014-15 League Two Review


This season showed that League Two has plenty of quality in it, but not necessarily from teams you expect. The the final promotion spot wasn’t decided until a dramatic final day, whilst the fight for relegation was contested all season, with great escapes from a handful of teams.

The three automatic promotion spots went to champions Burton Albion, as well as Shrewsbury Town and Bury. Meanwhile, the play-offs will be contested by Wycombe Wanderers, Southend United, Stevenage Town and Plymouth Argyle. At the bottom, two long-serving Football League teams dropped to the Conference. Cheltenham Town had spent 16 seasons out of non-league, whilst Tranmere Rovers were relegated for a second successive season ending a 94 year stint in the Football League. Commiserations to both clubs.

Final League Table


Team of the Season


Player of the Season

Danny Mayor – Bury


During his initial loan spell with Bury last season, Danny Mayor made such an impression that he was named Players’ Player of the Year and signed permanently from Sheffield Wednesday in the summer. Instantly the midfielder became the key man in Bury’s promotion charge, and kept on going from where he left off at the JD Stadium. Mayor impressed throughout this season with his pace, technical ability and his stunning array of long-range goals. In total, he hit the back of the net eight times, whilst also getting himself seven assists as Bury earned promotion to League One, finishing third. It’s no surprise he has been described as a player of ‘Championship quality’.

2nd – Ryan Woods (Shrewsbury)

3rd – Alfie Mawson (Wycombe Wanderers)

Manager of the Season

Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink – Burton Albion


Some credit has to go Gary Rowett for Burton’s success this season, but it is Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink who earnt the Brewers promotion to the third tier for the first time in their history. When Rowett left for Birmingham in October Burton were 5th, and there were a few eyebrows raised when the former Chelsea player was appointed as his successor. But he quickly changed those perceptions, and turned the Staffordshire club from play-off hopefuls to automatic promotion hunters. Hasselbaink got 65 points in 30 games, meaning they finished the season as champions with 94 points. They also scored the most goals in League Two (well, Hasselbaink was a striker!) and had the second best defensive record. The Dutchman has started building his reputation as a manager, and with a league title now in his trophy cabinet, how he fins League One will be interesting.

2nd – Gareth Ainsworth (Wycombe Wanderers)

3rd – Micky Mellon (Shrewsbury Town)

Goal of the Season

Andy Kellett v Northampton


2nd – Zack Kotwica vs Mansfield Town

3rd – Andy Mangan v Dagenham & Redbridge

Game of the Season 

Carlisle United 4-4 AFC Wimbledon


Adebayo Azeez scored a dramatic stoppage-time equaliser for AFC Wimbledon against 10-man Carlisle in an eight-goal thriller at Brunton Park. The visitors led twice in the first half through Sean Rigg and Matt Tubbs but Kyle Dempsey’s brace for Carlisle saw the teams go in level at the break. Josh Gillies’ angled shot put the hosts ahead and Brad Potts added a fourth. Tubbs scored from the spot after Gary Dicker saw red for handball before Azeez headed in from close range. Read the full report here.

2nd – Northampton Town 4-5 Accrington Stanley

Read the full report here.

3rd – Cambridge United 2-6 Portsmouth

Read the full report here.

Club-by-club Player of the Season

AFC Wimbledon: Adebayo Akinfenwa

Accrington Stanley: Kal Naismith

Burton Albion: Adam McGurk

Bury: Danny Mayor

Cambridge United: Ryan Donaldson


Carlisle United: Kyle Dempsey

Cheltenham Town: Trevor Carson

Dagenham & Redbridge: Mark Cousins

Exeter City: Tom Nichols

Hartlepool United: Scott Flinders

Luton Town: Andy Drury


Mansfield Town: Ryan Tafazolli

Morecambe: Shaun Beeley

Newport County: Mark Byrne

Northampton Town: Marc Richards

Oxford United: Danny Hylton

Plymouth Argyle: Reuben Reid


Portsmouth: Jed Wallace

Shrewsbury Town: Ryan Woods

Southend United: Ben Coker

Stevenage: Charlie Lee

Tranmere Rovers: Max Power

Wycombe Wanderers: Alfie Mawson


York City: Michael Coulson

The 2015-16 Sky Bet League Two campaign starts on 8th August. If you disagree with any of the awards, please feel free to let me know who you think deserved a mention in the comments below!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s