Looking Back at my 2014-15 Predictions

predictions

Oh dear this could get embarrassing. I made some predictions back in August and this is how they turned out.

Premier League

_jcr_content.autoteaser

My predicted table and where they actually finished in brackets. All correct predictions are in green.

1. Chelsea (1st)

2. Manchester City (2nd)

3. Arsenal (3rd)

4. Manchester United (4th)

__________________

5. Liverpool (6th)

6. Tottenham Hotspur (5th)

7. Everton (11th)

8. Sunderland (16th)

9. Stoke City (9th)

10. Newcastle United (15th)

11. Swansea City (8th)

12. Southampton (7th)

13. QPR (20th)

14. West Ham United (12th)

15. Hull City (18th)

16. Crystal Palace (10th)

17. Aston Villa (17th)

__________________

18. Leicester City (14th)

19. West Bromwich Albion (13th)

20. Burnley (19th)

So in total I got six out of 20 correct, including the exact top four. I was one away with three times, whilst my worst prediction was Sunderland, who finished eight places below 8th where I thought they would finish back in August.


The Championship

bournemouth-title-8x6549-2436683_478x359

My predicted table and where they actually finished in brackets. All correct predictions are in green. You know it’s not going well when you even got Blackpool wrong and predicted a relegated team to win the title.

1. Wigan Athletic (23rd)

2. Fulham (17th)

__________________

3. Cardiff City (11th)

4. Nottingham Forest (14th)

5. Norwich City (3rd)

6. Blackburn Rovers (9th)

__________________

7. Derby County (8th)

8. Watford (2nd)

9. Reading (19th)

10. Middlesbrough (4th)

11. Bournemouth (1st)

12. Brighton & Hove Albion (20th)

13. Ipswich Town (6th)

14. Wolverhampton Wanderers (7th)

15. Charlton Athletic (12th)

16. Bolton Wanderers (18th)

17. Sheffield Wednesday (13th)

18. Brentford (5th)

19. Leeds United (15th)

20. Huddersfield Town (16th)

21. Blackpool (24th)

__________________

22. Birmingham City (10th)

23. Rotherham United (21st)

24. Millwall (22nd)

Well, this is awkward. I didn’t get a single one right. The closest I came was with Derby, who I predicted would finish 7th, but ended up 8th. The worst was of course, was Wigan, who I thought would win the division, but ended up getting relegated in 23rd.


League One

stream_img

My predicted table and where they actually finished in brackets. All correct predictions are in green.

1. Sheffield United (5th)

2. Preston North End (3rd)

__________________

3. Bristol City (1st)

4. Leyton Orient (23rd)

5. MK Dons (2nd)

6. Barnsley (11th)

__________________

7. Peterborough (9th)

8. Yeovil Town (24th)

9. Notts County (21st)

10. Swindon Town (4th)

11. Bradford City (7th)

12. Chesterfield (6th)

13. Doncaster Rovers (13th)

14. Coventry City (17th)

15. Fleetwood Town (10th)

16. Port Vale (18th)

17. Gillingham (12th)

18. Crawley Town (22nd)

19. Oldham Athletic (15th)

20. Scunthorpe United (16th)

__________________

21. Walsall (14th)

22. Colchester United (19th)

23. Crewe Alexandra (20th)

24. Rochdale (8th)

So by pure luck, I managed to get one correct in predicting that Doncaster would finish 13th, a number so often unlucky. Had it not been for the final day drama, I would have got Preston right too, but the Lilywhites dropped from 2nd (my prediction) to 3rd before going up via the play-offs. As for the worst prediction, I thought that Leyton Orient would finish 4th, but they ended up getting relegated in 23rd.


League Two

burton-albion-promotion-8x6549-2409958_478x359

My predicted table and where they actually finished in brackets. All correct predictions are in green.

1. Portsmouth (16th)

2. Shrewsbury Town (2nd)

3. Plymouth Argyle (7th)

__________________

4. Bury (3rd)

5. York City (18th)

6. Southend United (5th)

7. Luton (8th)

__________________

8. Burton Albion (1st)

9. Northampton Town (12th)

10. Tranmere Rovers (24th)

11. Stevenage Borough (6th)

12. Carlisle United (20th)

13. Cambridge United (19th)

14. AFC Wimbledon (15th)

15. Cheltenham Town (23rd)

16. Newport County (9th)

17. Oxford United (13th)

18. Mansfield Town (21st)

19. Dagenham & Redbridge (14th)

20. Accrington Stanley (17th)

21. Wycombe Wanderers (4th)

22. Hartlepool United (22nd)

__________________

23. Morecambe (11th)

24. Exeter City (10th)

It appears my knowledge of League Two is better than that of the Championship and League One as I got two predictions correct with Shrewsbury Town (2nd) and Hartlepool United (22nd). Furthermore, my predictions for Southend, Luton and Wimbledon were only one place away. In contrast, the worst prediction saw me place Wycombe 21st, but they finished in 4th before losing the play-off final. The team I predicted 1st, Portsmouth, ended up in 16th.


Europe & Cup Competitions

La Liga

FC-BARCA-WIN-LA-LIGA-2015-e1432497481539

My Top Four Prediction:

1. Real Madrid (2nd)

2. Barcelona (1st)

3. Atletico Madrid (3rd)

4. Sevilla (5th)

My Bottom Three Prediction:

18. Almeira (19th)

19. Cordoba (20th)

20. Eibar (18th)

Overall it really wasn’t that bad for me in La Liga. I correctly predicted Atletico Madrid would finish third, whilst the rest of my top four prediction was only one away from where they eventually finished. I managed to predict the correct bottom three teams, but not in the right order.

Bundesliga

2015-635680718494332284-433

My Top Four Prediction:

1. Bayern Munich (1st)

2. Borussia Dortmund (7th)

3. Schalke (6th)

4. Bayer Leverkusen (4th)

My Bottom Two Prediction:

17. Freiburg (17th)

18.  Paderborn (18th)

Another generally good prediction. I managed to get two of the top four right, whilst I can’t be blamed for putting Dortmund 2nd, their 7th placed finish surprised everybody! At the bottom, I correctly predicted the placing of the bottom two. Ja!

Ligue 1

psg-cropped_3z0bafwvr3li1i81dx8rbit8u

My Top Four Prediction:

1. PSG (1st)

2. AS Monaco (3rd)

3. Marseille (4th)

4. St Etienne (5th)

My Bottom Three Prediction:

18. Metz (19th)

19. Evian (18th)

20. RC Lens (20th)

It’s a similar situation to La Liga, whereby I got one of the top four right, correctly predicting that PSG would win the French title. The rest of my top four actually all finished one place below where I put them. At the bottom, I got the three clubs correct, but only RC Lens in the right position (20th).

Serie A

2903757A00000578-3094269-image-a-118_1432406500025

My Top Four Prediction:

1. Juventus (1st)

2. AS Roma (2nd)

3.  Inter Milan (8th)

4. Napoli (5th)

My Bottom Three Prediction:

18. Empoli (15th)

19. Cesena (19th)

20. Sassuolo (12th)

The worst of my European league predictions, but still not terrible. I got the two correct in Juventus and AS Roma, whilst I was one away with Napoli, but admittedly Inter Milan finished five places below where I put them. I only got one of the bottom three correct on this occasion, but at least I put Cesena in the right place (19th)!

Premier League PFA Player of the Year

  • My Prediction: Wayne Rooney
  • The Manchester United striker wasn’t nominated, but another Englishman was in Harry Kane. Who would have predicted that?

Premier League PFA Young Player of the Year:

  • My Prediction: Raheem Sterling
  • Contract controversy overshadowed Sterling’s campaign, and it was the aforementioned Kane who grabbed this award

Premier League Top Scorer

  • My Prediction: Diego Costa
  • The Chelsea man led the way for part of the campaign, but injury saw him overtaken by Kane and eventual top scorer Sergio Aguero

FA Cup winners

  • My Prediction: Liverpool
  • I was fairly close with this one as the Reds made it to the semi-finals but were knocked out by Aston Villa, who then lost to Arsenal in the final.

League Cup winners

  • My Prediction: Arsenal
  • Unfortunately The Gunners couldn’t win the League Cup as well, as they were defeated by Southampton in the third round.

Johnstone’s Paint Trophy

  • My Prediction: Preston North End
  • Although Preston did win at Wembley in 2014-15, unfortunately it wasn’t in the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy. The Lilywhites were knocked out in the Northern Area Final (that means they were very close) by Walsall, who lost to Bristol City in the final.

Champions League

  • My prediction: Real Madrid
  • The current holders couldn’t retain their crown and were knocked out by Juventus in the semi-finals, losing 3-2 on aggregate. The Italian side will now face Barcelona in the final on Saturday.

Europa League 

  • My Prediction: Tottenham Hotspur
  • Spurs made it to the League Cup Final, but in the Europa League it was a different story. Mauricio Pochettino’s men were defeated in the Round of 32 by Fiorientina

Scottish Premier League

  • My Prediction: Celtic
  • Perhaps the easiest one to predict, it was almost impossible for me to get this wrong. The boys from Glasgow won their fourth title on the trot, topping the Scottish Premiership table by 17 points.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

