Premier League Predictions Week 4 vs My Dad

AFP/OLI SCARFF
AFP/OLI SCARFF

What’s this, I hear you ask? Premier League Predictions on a Wednesday? There’s no games until Saturday lunchtime? Well, you’re reading this now because I am off camping for the next few days, away from the modern amenities, such as wifi, meaning I will be unable to publish this when I am somewhere in the middle of the New Forest. So, at such short notice, there was only one person to turn to for predictions this week. My dad. But before we get on to that, let’s take a look back at the weekend just gone, as I took on Apprentice star Felipe Alviar-Baquero.

I came out on top by a score of 6-5, meaning that I remain unbeaten three weeks into the season. Both Felipe and I predicted one correct score each, whilst I got four other results correct and Felipe got three. Thanks to Felipe for taking part, and he may well make another appearance on the blog later on in the season to try and beat his first score! Here’s what the prediction table looks like:

  1. Tom Malley – 6
  2. Olly (average) – 5
  3. Felipe Alviar-Baquero – 5
  4. Benjamin Wills – 3
  • Olly’s Total = 16
  • Guests’ Total = 14

Onto this week, and a much less glamorous guest unfortunately. But what can you do?! Yes it’s my dad, a man who takes an interest in football, comes to the occasional Reading game, but on the whole doesn’t really follow it religiously. He could probably only name around seven or eight Premier League teams. But that does not make him an easy opponent. Guessing the scores of 10 games has a huge element of luck about it as anything can happen in football, so my dad should have as a good a chance as anybody, as long as he doesn’t predict cricket-like scores! The good news is he hasn’t, and here are our predictions:

Newcastle United vs Arsenal – Saturday 12:45pm

  • Olly’s Prediction: 1-2
  • My dad’s Prediction: 2-1
  • Final Score: 0-1

Aston Villa vs Sunderland – Saturday 3pm

  • Olly’s Prediction: 0-0
  • My dad’s Prediction: 1-1
  • Final Score: 2-2

Bournemouth vs Leicester City – Saturday 3pm

  • Olly’s Prediction: 1-1
  • My dad’s Prediction: 2-2
  • Final Score: 1-1

Chelsea vs Crystal Palace – Saturday 3pm

GETTY IMAGES/MIKE HEWITT
GETTY IMAGES/MIKE HEWITT
  • Olly’s Prediction: 2-0
  • My dad’s Prediction: 0-0
  • Final Score: 1-2

Liverpool vs West Ham United – Saturday 3pm

  • Olly’s Prediction: 2-0
  • My dad’s Prediction: 1-0
  • Final Score: 0-3

Manchester City vs Watford – Saturday 3pm

  • Olly’s Prediction: 4-0
  • My dad’s Prediction: 3-2
  • Final Score: 2-0

Stoke City vs West Bromwich Albion – Saturday 3pm

GETTY IMAGES/PAUL THOMAS
GETTY IMAGES/PAUL THOMAS
  • Olly’s Prediction: 2-1
  • My dad’s Prediction: 0-2
  • Final Score: 0-1

Tottenham Hotspur vs Everton – Saturday 5:30pm

  • Olly’s Prediction: 2-2
  • My dad’s Prediction: 1-0
  • Final Score: 0-0

Southampton vs Norwich City – Sunday 1:30pm

  • Olly’s Prediction: 2-1
  • My dad’s Prediction: 1-3
  • Final Score: 3-0

Swansea City vs Manchester United – Sunday 4pm

GETTY IMAGES/ MICHAEL STEELE
GETTY IMAGES/ MICHAEL STEELE
  • Olly’s Prediction: 1-1
  • My dad’s Prediction: 0-0
  • Final Score: 2-1

I’ll share the results on Twitter after the weekend’s fixtures and also include them in next week’s Premier League predictions. If you want to take part or share your predictions, just leave a comment below!

One thought on “Premier League Predictions Week 4 vs My Dad

Leave a Reply

