ABC World Cup: Chile Go Cold As Uruguay Become New Champions


After holding the ABC World Cup trophy for five games since their Copa America win in the summer, Chile have finally lost, and it is Uruguay who are the new champions.

Going back to the start of the international break, and Chile hosted ex-champions Colombia in a World Cup Qualifier that ended 1-1 that ended their 100% record in the group stages. Arturo Vidal opened the scoring in first-half stoppage time as he headed past David Ospina from close range before James Rodriguez netted a scruffy equaliser with 22 minutes remaining last Thursday.

But Chile would go on to lose for the first time in qualifying and therefore give up the ABC World Cup when they visited Uruguay on Tuesday. In a fiercely contested game, goals from Diego Godin, Alvaro Pereira and Martin Caceres gave the hosts a comfortable victory, meaning that they are the new champions. Uruguay become the sixth country to hold the trophy, and the fifth from South America – only the inaugural winners Germany have won it outside the continent. But how long can Suarez, Cavani & co hold onto it for? They visit Brazil and then host Peru in the next international break which is in March. Meanwhile, here’s a complete history of the ABC World Cup, with Chile becoming the second most successful team thanks to the amount of games they held it for.

abc wc record 8


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s