Looking At My Old Tweets! (Part One)

You’ve probably seen videos/blogs on people looking at their old tweets before, so I thought I’d jump on the bandwagon and look through the Twitter archives. I created an account on 31st July 2012, and this first part will look at tweets from that point up until the end of the 2014 World Cup. This is because I tweeted much less frequently back then, so it hasn’t taken an awfully long time to look back. I might potentially do more recent tweets in the future if this post goes down well.

Now as much as you might like to read about my school life in Year 10 or what I thought of The Apprentice Series 9, the following tweets are only going to be football related, this is a football blog after all. So, without further ado…

4th September 2013 – Nick Hammond is one of the most influential men in Reading FC’s history, doing a brilliant job as Director of Football from 2003 until his departure to West Brom earlier this year. Yet for some reason I wasn’t happy with our summer 2013 spending. Yes, Royston Drenthe, one of our worst ever signings, might have been brought in, but I think 14 year old Olly was perhaps a little hasty!

31st December 2013 – At this point in the 2013/14 season, Reading were ninth in the Championship and one point off the play-offs, but it seems I was edging towards #AdkinsOut. To think that to be in that position now would be one many Reading fans would take!

11th January 2014 – See above. Ah, I long for the days when seventh was considered a failure!

3rd March 2014 – You mean THE Michael Hector that would play a key part for Reading the following season and is now a Chelsea player? I can spot a talent when I see one Ā šŸ˜‰

16th March 2014 – I included this tweet for the hashtag more than anything, because that is a cracking hashtag and why it never got trending I will never know. I still stand by this tweet too – international friendlies are pointless!

13th April 2014 – This is something you will rarely see – me praising Liverpool. Just a shame that they let it slip, so to to speak Ā šŸ˜‰

3rd May 2014 – So Nigel Adkins kept his job much to the disappointment of 15 year old Olly, and Reading we’re in play-off contention on the final day of 2013/14. What happened next? A 2-2 draw with Burnley followed by a pitch invasion as we thought we’d make the play-offs. Little did we know, Brighton had scored a 92nd minute winner against Nottingham Forest to make the top six instead. Cringe.

22nd May 2014 – One of the more pleasant tweets to look back at. Will forever be grateful to the folks at GetReading for giving me my first taste of working in a newsroom and reaffirming my career aspiration.

27th May 2014 – 15 year old Olly liked to sit on the fence it seems. I suppose I was sort of right, I think Pochettino has done brilliantly at White Hart Lane.

8th June 2014 – I was never confident before the 2014 World Cup despite many people getting caught up in the hype. Seems as though I was right to be pessimistic..

26th June 2014 – After crashing out at the bottom of our group, I called for Roy Hodgson to resign. It only took him two years and another terrible tournament performance…

So those were some of the tweets that I picked out, and hopefully a few have made you laugh, smile or probably cringe. As I said at the start, let me know if you want me to do a part two of more recent tweets in the comments below or on Twitter!

One thought on “Looking At My Old Tweets! (Part One)

Leave a Reply

